Do What Makes You Happy

I just did something big.
Real big.
I just quit my job. Not sure what I’m going to do next, but I know I need to focus on myself. Which got me thinking…

Why on Earth am I freaking out over my minimum-wage, 9-to-5 job? I should be freaking out on the fact that I now have 8.5 hours to explore the world and figure out what makes me happy!

So I know that change is scary, but my situation is telling me that change is good. I really need to embrace the life that I have and make it my own! I love making others happy, but I need to figure out what makes me happy as well. I need to be okay with myself and stand 100% behind my decisions. I need to be okay with my major, my riding, my relationship, and my friendships. I need to be okay with the amount of sentences I begin with ‘I.’

But most of all, I need to be okay with doing what makes me happy. I think the lesson in all of this is to be absolutely sure about yourself. It’s no fun living life constantly afraid of what will happen next or if you are making the ‘right’ decision. What the hell is ‘right,’ anyway? Just figure out what you like doing and stick to it.

So now that I have no job and I am free to finish up my senior year of college with my beloved Raven, I am prepared to make the most of it. Starting with figuring out what makes me happy.

Just remember to take everything in one stride at a time!

Leave a Reply

