Thanksgiving

Hi, all!

So I’ve been gone awhile….sorry! Grad school is kicking my butt. Not gonna lie I have been so busy and today I totally forgot to shower and I didn’t realize that until just now.

But anyways, on to what I actually wanted to say.

I tried something new and hopped on the Western train! As many can tell from this blog, I ride English and, aside from a couple of tourist trail rides, I have never ridden Western. Over Thanksgiving I was able to try something new, starting with a Western saddle.

thursdaywesternriding

(Excuse my riding attire, my family abruptly asked me to ride with them while I was in the middle of cooking so I had no time to change)

On Thursday, I warmed up my ride on the “western” side to get a feel for the tack change and for the differences in command. My AQHA judging experience came in handy!! It was definitely a learning curve to ride in this saddle, but I acclimated quickly. I even taught my boyfriend how to ride and he grew comfortable enough to go out in the pasture on his own.Thursday was a good warm up for the big guns. We were able to become comfortable with the horses and tack in time for the next adventure – a BLM trail ride.

Friday was the big day. We decided we were going on a trail ride, rain or shine. We loaded up the horses in 45 degree pouring rain and headed to the Bend in Red Bluff.

goneridingtrail

Oh. My. Gosh. So gorgeous. The rain actually stopped (thankfully) as soon as we hopped on our horses and headed for the trail. Even though we ended up walking and trotting a bit, I absolutely loved it. There was no one on the trail, everything was fresh from the rain, and the views were absolutely to die for.

We even had enough time for Wes and I to take cute pictures with all the gorgeous nature. Once of my favorite things about the Bend was the always changing scenery. There was over 300,000 acres full of rolling hills, rivers, forests, and meadows. The trail ride was truly a beautiful thing.

These pictures do not do the area justice, but take my word because this ride was one of the most serene and picturesque. It was also a great experience to try something different.

As a typical horse girl, I will take just about any opportunity to spend time with a horse. However, I get so caught up in my discipline that I sometimes forget about others or I never think to try something new with my horse. Spending time with family, especially with a fellow horsewoman who strictly trail rides and packs, gave me a different perspective.

My horse sense grew over the weekend because I was able to learn from the trails. These horses were so comfortable with trailering, with jogging on trails, even with gunshots! It reminded me that increased exposure makes a better horse – something that my horse definitely needs to work on.Trail riding also taught me to slow down and enjoy the view. Constantly in the competition world can be detrimental to both our horses and ourselves. This is why I think we need to experience different things. It doesn’t need to be as drastic as racing barrels on Saturdays and show jumping on Sundays, but a casual trail ride every once in awhile could benefit your horse. You can even work it into your training regimen as a hack or conditioning!

All in all, doing something different every once in awhile not only opens your perspective, but it could maintain the health of your horse, and you might even find your next new hobby!

 

Leave a Reply

