Discovering Other Disciplines

I am beginning another segment on my blog because I feel like it and it’s fun so here we go yay! It’s called latte horse talk. My attempt is to make it similar to coffee talk, where you just discuss interesting topics and see what happens. Today, I want to talk about different disciplines.

I started out my riding career as an event rider. I swore I thought I was so good at riding. When I started competing, I was 10 and I knew that I had a long way to go and a lot to learn before I was riding some serious fences, but I figured that staying with event trainers would land me there quickly. Boy, I REALLY had a long way to go, but it seemed completely doable. Honestly, it would have worked out. Staying in one discipline usually works just fine, but I had a bit of a different path.

Instead, I tried different things. Most of this happened when I went away to college. Not only did I experiment with jumpers, hunters, and dressage, but I also took classes about conformation, judging, and beginning western riding! I also took a halter breaking class (which I talk about in this blog post) and I learned a lot about horse behavior. Each class/experience I had gave me a bit to take into my own riding. I’d like to think I became a better rider because of it.

Even if you don’t want to step out of your comfort zone and do another discipline, try taking a lesson with another trainer! Sometimes they give you a solution to a problem you’ve been having forever. One of the first times I rode with a different trainer, I asked why my horse kept doing running after the fence over and over again and I felt like I was falling forward whenever I would try to half halt. I swear it seems like the simplest solution now, but she casually said try keeping your leg on. I know, I know, it’s like the easiest thing to do and for years I didn’t have it in my head to do it. But now, I will never forget that and my half halts are so darn good it’s insane!

If you’re looking to get better at your riding, or looking for a fun adventure, try other disciplines. Compete in a jumper class if you’re a dressage person. Sit on a reiner and try a spin or two. Heck, just take a lesson from a different trainer. Trust me.

Because you learn amazing things along the way!

Okay cool, well I hope it works out then. Just take your learning experience one stride at a time and it will all work out!

 

 

3 thoughts on “Discovering Other Disciplines

  1. Great point! When my kids were young, I enrolled them in Vaulting — and I asked if I could learn, too. It turned out to be the best thing I’d ever done to help both my riding skills, and my teaching. It helped me in situations when we teach, and we attempt to “talk” a student into something we know how to do, and they just CAN’T get it, and we think they are just dumb . . . it was humbling to have the vaulting instructor tell me, tell me, tell me stuff. And my brain and body just couldn’t get it . . . for a very long time. So it helped me develop better ways to teach. To ride. To have more patience. And to help my students learn. :)) (Added bonus — my kids never fell off a horse again, once they learned to vault. They would just vault off, laughing :)) Dawn

    https://soulhorseride.wordpress.com/

    Like

      1. See if you can find an instructor who will teach adults — it will really take your riding to another level, no matter how many years you’ve been doing it :)) I actually stood at the canter three rounds on the longe, vaulted off, and survived!!!!! :)) (the kids make it all look so easy!)

        Like

Leave a Reply

